In recent years, more and more people are choofsing to read e-books rather than paper books. DO the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In the contemporary era, people prefer to read soft copies of the books on their mobile phones or laptops instead of purchasing an actual book. This essay would discuss that there are more merits than demerits of this trend. The essay would first demonstrate that virtual books could be bought at an affordable price, and it would run on any device, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely weakening of the eyesight, is not valid. On the positive side, e- books have various advantages. Since virtual books are cheap and it could run on various platforms such as smartphones and computers. Therefore, people could easily afford it and read it on their preferred device. If a student wants to study his course, then he or she could download his course books from the university's website at a nominal cost. As a result, students could learn new concepts at an affordable price. For instance, Lovely Professional University, which is the biggest university in India, offers subject books in an e-book format. Pupils can easily download the course material from the institution's website and mobile application. On the downside, it is often argued that if a person reads an e-book on a daily basis, then it would be detrimental for his or her eyesight and he or she would require glasses in the long run. However, most of the devices on which an e-book runs have anti-glare screens, which protect an individual's vision. Consequently, it would not cause any harm to the eyes. For instance, Samsung, which is a mobile manufacturing company, develops android devices with AMOLED screens. Even if a person is constantly using his smartphone, it would not affect his or her eyesight. To conclude, the fact that digital books are cheaply available and could run various devices clearly outweighs the flawed argument that it reduces a person's vision.