All over the world scientists are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Over the last decade obesity in both young and adults have reached dramatical heights. Ongoing researches have shown lasting correlation between a number of factors and weight gain, that begins in childhood and persists into adulthood. This essay shall draw light into some of the reasons and tackling solutions for this pressing problem. Undoubtedly, detrimental dietary intake accounts for majority of obesity cases. Excessive consumption of junk or fast food that are rich in calories and unhealthy fats, lead to improper digestion and fat conversion. Such fat deposition on a regular basis compounds to plumpness. Nevertheless, choosing wisely from home cooked food along with right proportions of intake at punctual intervals can alleviate this worrying situation to a certain extent. In terms of diet of young children, parents need to play a mindful role in controlling and providing correct choices. Another undeniable reason to excessive weight gain is the sedentary lifestyle justified by the advancement and sophistication in technology. Prolonged hours of sitting in front of a screen, whether it be a television, a computer or a mobile phone can reduce metabolism, muscle strength and endurance, in addition to poor blood circulation. Several longitudinal studies have shown the current generation to be shockingly inactive compared to their predecessors. Sensible and moderate use of technology is imperative to ensure sufficient chances of physical activity. Specifically speaking for the young children growing in urban environments, parents need to make a judicious effort to guarantee their children are getting adequate exercise on a daily basis while setting themselves as an example for staying energetic. To conclude, the rise in obesity is certainly worrying exceptionally in children, being a vulnerable part of the population. Nonetheless, by setting a role model for staying active in conjunction with intelligent choices of food, we can help to make sure that the next generation grows up healthy and strong.