What are the pros and cons of children of watching television?

Television is undoubtedly one of the greatest inventions of mankind and therefore has attracted people of every age groups. Whilst it has gained immense popularity, this has also led to discussions on the advantages and disadvantages of it, especially in the younger age groups. The essay intends to portray the pros and cons of viewing TV on minors. A major positive result of kids watching TV is that it helps them to develop an interest in learning and remembering the concepts easily. As it is a visual media, the scenes displayed on it are graphically appealing and therefore stored easily in the memory of a child. As a result, children enjoy watching it and also memorizing it with minimal effort. For instance, a teenager who watches shows relating to the space and planets of the galaxy tend to develop an interest in astronomy. On the other hand, spending too much time on television causes strain on the eyes, impairing vision in kids. Youngsters often tend to sit for long hours watching their favourite shows, series or games, leading to severe strain on their eyesight. Moreover, recent studies have proven the fact that there is a surge in the usage of glasses amongst youngsters. To conclude, television is a major invention of humans and has become a part and parcel of our lives. It has been a great help to create interest in learning new things for children and help them in remembering concepts. Even though it has advantages, one can never forget that it is also one of the major cause of the increase in the usage of high powered spectacles among children.