In most countries, with the widespread of the use of Internet, people have more freedom to choose to work and study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement in technology and the internet, most people have the flexible option to work and learn remotely rather than go to offices or educational institutions. Although, working from home has its merits there are drawbacks as well. The essay will put forward the points supporting this idea. First and foremost, the main benefits of working from home is that it is convenient and cost-effective. We have the privilege to do our work or learn at the comfort of our home. Moreover, we can save the time and money that we usually spend for going to offices or schools for other productive purposes. For example, we can do exercises to keep ourselves fit or pursue any hobbies of our interest. Thus, remote working provides flexibility and the time saved can be invested in other activities. On the other hand, there are disadvantages to remote working or learning as it reduces social interactions between the peers and can be distractive environment. People tend to be less socially active and become reclusive as they don' t meet their colleagues or fellow students on a daily basis. Also, home environment can be easily distracting and people won' t be able to focus on their work. For example, if a project requires group discussions, it will be quite difficult for people to discuss their ideas on the social communicating platforms as they won' t be able to focus. There might occur many interruptions and it won' t be as productive as a physical meeting. So, working remotely can make people less interactive and they can lose their concentration towards their work. To conclude, although, working remotely has it's perks like convenience and time and cost saving however, it can cause distraction in people as well as make them socially introverted. In my view, the advantages and disadvantages are of the same level.