All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that children need to focus on developing skills in school that are useful for their future, while there are others who feel that it is better for them to learn various subjects. In my opinion, I believe that having many different subjects is more important for their future. On the one hand, many think that teaching children skills benefit them in the future. In other words, it is a better idea for children to spend time on developing practical skills such as math and communication skills than to learn subjects that are not likely to be associated with their future. For instance, most workers do not use at work what they learned in art and music lessons in school. Moreover, these subjects can be learned outside the school curriculum. On the other hand, having a wide range of subjects is more beneficial for children, according to some. Unlike adults, children are still in the process of physical and psychological development, which means that they need to be exposed to a lot of things. For example, PE is critical for their physical development, and art is essential for their sensory development as well as creativity. Furthermore, concentrating only on skills would limit their future career options, as most children still have no found their strengths and interests. Finally, I feel that the advantages of having various subjects outweigh the benefits of acquiring skill at early ages. In addition to what I mentioned above, having various kinds of experiences can be advantageous in work as well. To give an example, creativity which can be learned through art benefits a person in business. To conclude, focusing on skills in school and learning various subjects both have plus points. However, I believe that the latter is more crucial for children ’s development and future.