In some countries around the world men and women are having children later in life. What are reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In the contemporary era, it is often observed in certain nations that couple plan to have a child when they are in their thirties or forties. Firstly, this essay would discuss the cause behind this trend. Secondly, it would discuss the consequences of this phenomenon on family and society. People prefer their profession and career over family commitments. Since individuals pursue a bachelor’s or a master’s degree. Therefore, it takes approximately five to six years to accomplish their academic qualifications. After that they start their career in various fields. If they want to reach a senior position in an organisation, then they need further seven or eight years of experience accompanied with an advanced degree. Consequently, people devote most of their time to study and acquire a job, and then they decide to have a child. For example, In India, which is a country situated in Asia, according to a recent survey, most of the educated Indians plan to have a child after thirty-five years of age. Since the birth rate has decreased significantly due to this development. Thus, countries such as Canada, and Ireland are dependent upon immigration for skilled workers. If these nations want to bridge the gap between the labour shortage, then they need workers from overseas. For instance, Canada, which is a nation situated in North America, have Express Entry programs through which people with advanced degree, and experience could immigrate to Canada. This trend could affect families too. Individuals, who plan to have kids later in life mostly have nuclear families. As a result, their offspring would spend less time with their grandparents, and are a child would not learn traditional values and etiquettes from their grandfather and grandmother. To conclude, this essay discussed that people prefer to have a child later in life because they want to complete their studies and obtain a job. Furthermore, it discussed that there would not be adequate people to work in the market, and a child would not spend enough time with their grandparents due to this trend.