Teenagers who commit serious crimes, such as burglary or murder, should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that adolescents who are found guilty of homicide or theft should be punished in the same way as adults that commit crimes. There are some advantages to this but there are many disadvantages that outweigh this decision. In my opinion, teenagers should not be exposed to the same punishments that are given to adult criminals. On the one hand, putting young people who commit crimes in jail with adult criminals could help them to understand the gravity of their actions. This would also prevent them from committing further crimes, at least temporarily. On the other hand, young people are likely to be influenced negatively by the bad company they find in prison. While they are still young they are too inexperienced to deal with some of the situations that are commonly found in prison, such as physical or sexual abuse. In this environment they will probably develop a negative self-imagine as a criminal that might last the rest of their lives. By contrast, in a juvenile detention center they could be taught a skill and develop a positive self-imagine. Ideally they would be able to get a job and function normally in society when they get out. In conclusion, there are more drawbacks than benefits to treating teenagers who commit crimes like adults. They are still in their formative years and able to be rehabilitated. I believe that teenagers who commit crimes have had difficult lives until that time and deserve a second chance.