Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Today the number of people that are suffering from sleep problems is rising. This essay will discuss a couple of issues that are related to the lack of sleep and offer some advice that could prevent or reduce this problem. To begin with, not getting enough sleep can cause people to be less focused, to have slower reflexes and to be more irritable. In the workplace and in routine life being, it is important to be lucid in order to make rational choices and actions. It has been scientifically proven that a certain number of hours without sleep is comparable to drunkenness. Furthermore, sleeping only a few hours per night or even skipping an entire night’s sleep could lead to serious health problems, especially if it occurs for a long time. On the positive side, there are some measures that can be taken to overcome this problem. First of all, it is best to avoid all stimulating substances, for instance, caffeine, nicotine, alcohol and even sugar before going to bed. The same is true for many technological devices because the screens of television, computers and smartphones emit a kind of light that keeps people awake by interfering with the production of melatonin, the sleep hormone. Second, it is recommended to practise meditation or breathing exercises to relax and fall asleep. Regular physical activity also contributes to good sleep habits. In conclusion, while in modern day life many people suffer from lack of sleep that can have negative consequences, there are practical solutions that can be employed without much effort.