In the last 20 years, the assessment of students has undergone major transformation. Many educational institutions no longer use formal examination as a means of assessment as they believe formal examination results are an unfair indication of a student’s ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To judge the student ’s ability via formal examination has been deeply rooted in the world but in some countries the concept has been changed and it is believed that those way of checking students ability is unfair. This essay agrees on the concept that knowing student’s ability with formal examination is not fair. Further, it will also highlight the benefit of informal examination styles in student’s life giving the reasons that formal way of checking student ’s ability will just create anxiety and students will have very low self-esteem. To begin with, there has been a drastic change in educational institutions in past 20 years. High number of education’s board believes that taking formal exams and asking student to sit in an exam hall just makes students fearful which results in poor academic and impact student mental health. For example, many developing countries like Nepal still follow the pattern of formal examination believing that country will have highly qualified intelligent people. But every year there has been a case that 70% students fail in those formal exams. In addition, formally examining the student ’s ability has also resulted in students having really low self-esteem. For instance, there has been a research comparing two countries where one follows the formal examination pattern and other assess their students differently. It is showed that, those students who are examined via different assessment have got high self esteem and have done really good with their life. Where other student who are examined formally once in a year has showed low self esteem which resulted in lack of motivation in their life. In conclusion, instead of checking student ’s ability with formal examination and pressurizing them, if all education institutions follow the pattern of accessing their student via different assessment, they will have high number of qualified and intelligent people in their countries.