Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some people say that fare is bought by many various countries over the world. Personally, in this essay, I will discuss both sides: advantages and disadvantages. The undeniable fact is that importing is likely to create much more pressure on the domestic businesses, so they will face difficulties to get the advantages in comparison with other foreign opponents. To illustrate this, nowadays, many governments have encouraged free trade agreement, which will be a trigger for the country, for instance, if the government lower down the import duty on some lines then the demand for those imported products will increase and the local players will not be able to compete with foreign players. Furthermore, the import activities bring some risks for the country because if a company is completely dependent on other countries for their raw materials, meanwhile, if that nation imposes tariffs on their exports, the company can be disastrous such as the shortage of food. Besides, currency risk seems to be always there implying that the firm is not hedged against currency variation and then it might lose money rather than gaining from doing imports. On the contrary, Importing food from abroad is considered as an opportunity for which entrepreneurs can get reduced costs for their products, as buying food from its native country may mean prices are more affordable as the supply is higher than growing it locally. For example, Vietnam and Thailand were the two nations that supply rice the most in the world, so many European or American companies have chosen them to import rice due to the reasonable price and the leading standard. Otherwise, the market would be less competitive with each other, which competition is one of the elements motivating enterprises in order that many high-quality products are more and more available in the market. Therefore, consumers would no longer have a variety of choices about foodstuffs, which means although a commodity can be bought at the same or even lower price, perhaps they might have to buy it with the worse model and quality. In conclusion, although food imports have some advantages for businesses, I believe that there still exist some downsides for the country as well as the local companies.