Some parents believe that cell phones are harmful to children, while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is believed by some parents that cell phones are harmful to children, whereas others do not think so. Despite access to the necessary information, cell phones negatively affect children's physical and mental health. In my opinion, mobile phones have more harm than usefulness. On the one hand, with the help of smartphones, kids can get access to most of the information in one button press. This can be very useful, especially, for educational purposes. Also, the phones provide parents with the current location of their child increasing the level of safety. Moreover, a great number of brain training mobile applications can be found in Apple Store or Play Market. A prime example would be Lumocity. The creators of this application claim that approaches and exercises used were thoroughly tested and proved by several experiments. On the other hand, the detrimental effect of mobile screens on children's health cannot be neglected. Nowadays, the percentage of children with bad eyesight is growing at high rates. In addition, spending too much time in front of a phone promotes a sedentary lifestyle, which is one of the root causes of many serious diseases such as diabetes, obesity, etcetera. For instance, some studies show that children who spend more than 4 hours per day playing mobile games have 40% more chances of developing diabetes. In conclusion, although modern cell phones can provide some useful functions and information for children, they are still too harmful to be used on regular basis. I think the usage of phones for kids should be strictly limited by certain time frames if not at all.