Every year, several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many languages become extinct annually due to various reasons. It is often believed by some people that limited languages throughout the globe are better and convenient. This essay discusses despite few benefits why I completely disagree with those who argue that it is not important to keep all the languages alive. On the one hand, the significant benefit obtained by dying out of several languages is that it presents a common style to communicate worldwide such as English or french. This is important because the language barrier which hinders understanding amongst the people can be removed by using the same dialect. A man, for instance, who is planning to relocate abroad for the business would be easily able to explain to the public the promotional strategies required for a new startup using English as a medium to explain. In contrast, if the person does not know the native language of a nation, where it is still mandatory to be vernacular then it is likely to hamper the carrier growth of that person and many others who have similar plans. On the other hand, however, it is vital that the variety of languages should be preserved up to some extent. The reason for this is that every culture is depicted primarily through the type of language used by a person to have a conversation. Henceforth, the disappearance of this linguistic diversity will simultaneously result in cultural extinction. Consequently, this might keep coming generations unaware of the cultural significance of their own society. For example, if Hindi no longer exists then an Indian child would never be able to have an insight into the literature and poems holding prestigious meaning about history. Thus, the existence of different languages is essential to carry forward the traces of the traditional customs up to eternity. In conclusion, although the availability of fewer languages to communicate may enhance the livelihood of people, I believe it is crucial to keep them all alive to demonstrate the religious and ethnic values of a country because a language can be learned still but culture cannot be replicated.