In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It goes without saying that modern technology has brought several benefits for the society as a whole, especially in terms of entertainment. As a result, there is a plethora of renowned novels available nowadays, although crime dramas are becoming increasingly common. In this context, it is crucial to understand what the causes of this preference are and why it might be harmful for individuals. Firstly, it is undoubtedly true that books based on crimes are likely to become best sellers considering that they catch the general public’s attention. Furthermore, a great number of people prefer this type of story since its ending gives them a real thrill. Take a murder on the Orient Express as an example. It is a gripping mystery about a murder in a train, which is well-liked worldwide. Likewise, another aspect that needs to be considered is that TV crime dramas usually portrait the reality in many nations. Consequently, viewers tend to choose this option rather than the light-hearted genres, such as romance. To illustrate, a true case about a daughter that killed her parents in Brazil has become a film, whose script surpassed all expectations of the audience and playwrights. As far as I am concerned, crime fiction is the most inappropriate genre for both adults and children since it might encourage a violent demeanor. Moreover, it is widely known that thriller stories can bring despair and fright to our lives as they are shocking. Toddlers, for instance, normally have nightmares if they hear about horror characters, which may affect their mental health. To sum up, when it comes to entertainment, it is undeniable that crime programmes are quite famous at the present days. However, from my point of view, they are not beneficial as they tend to nourish heavy feelings, particularly for children.