Sports are paid too much for what they do. Discuss

Sport is an important common thread that binds people together by building a sense of nationalism. So are the players of the game, who are often glamorized for their status and remuneration. Sports stars’ salaries are propagated to be far higher than their contribution. However, I would choose to opine a different outlook on the matter. The following essay outlines the reasons for my opinion. Generally, people enviously observe how celebrity sportsmen live in affluence, not realizing the amount of dedicated hard work that has gone into the building of a star. One cannot conveniently fail to think of the rigorous training and focused orientation that each sportsman has gone through. Moreover, several years of consistent practice would also have put at stake, many crucial aspects of their social and personal lives. Hence, a high pay scale seems to be the fairest recompense for their endeavours. Furthermore, people in the field of sport are forced to an early retirement due to physical limitations that come up with age. To compound, their chance of accidental injuries cannot be grade out. Whatever be the scenario, sportsmen tend to settle down early in life, thereby decreasing their years of earning considerably. This would totally justify their high pay for the reduced number of working years. To conclude, payment related to sportsmen has always resulted in resentment in a major sector of the community. Nonetheless, in my opinion, analyzing the immense effort and diminished period of work, the payoff to any sports celebrity is fairly defended.