Many offenders commit their crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is a commonly known fact that the majority of criminals do not stop after their first punishment and violate the law again. This essay will first suggest that unbearable living conditions in jails are the primary reasons for this phenomenon and then submit reconstruction of the facilities for serving a sentence as the foremost remedy. Living conditions in the majority of prisons do not foster offenders to improve. Namely, their life dramatically changes as they lack basic amenities, such as hot water or a private toilet, alongside they are treated in a cruel way by the staff. For example, according to the documentary released recently, a fair number of people, who committed a repeated offence, claim that because of the systematic humiliation and cruelty which they have been witnessing for many years, they did not feel comfortable and saw no alternative perspectives for themselves in the real world. A possible solution would be improving the quality of facilities where sentenced people are supposed to live. In other words, in order to be eager to improve, residents need to have humble, but normal living conditions and be sure that they are entitled to have food and medical care on time. For example, according to world statistics, there are 50% fewer repeated crimes in those countries where criminals live their normal life on the territory of jails, being restricted only in travelling and some kinds of entertainment. In conclusion, living conditions in most prisons do not encourage criminals to become better member of society and a possible remedy for the prevention of repeated offences might be improving the circumstances in which these people stay.