Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Traffic congestion has become a major controversy in many parts of today's world. some opine that the rapid increase in the ownership of vehicles has caused this problem. I advocate the above statement and this essay will provide the supporting arguments for it and possible actions to mitigate the issue with clear examples. Firstly, owning an automobile has become a necessity in our lives. Hence, having a vehicle is considered a parameter to judge somebody's social status. Therefore, many people purchase motor vehicles despite their income levels. Moreover, due to favourable government policies such as lower interest rates on vehicles has led citizens to purchase any type of vehicle promptly.To illustrate, it has been revealed that the traffic congestion in Colombo city in Sri Lanka will double in the next decade due to small vehicles which are being sold rapidly based on easy instalment scheme. Hence, it is clear why many claims the positive co-relationship with traffic and ownership of vehicles. However, the government could play a vital role to solve this issue. Firstly, the infrastructure facilities need to be improved by widening existing roads and introducing alternative transportation methods such as park and ride,boat services and metro railway systems. For instance, the traffic is controlled strategically in Italy through the high number of car owners by using their natural rivers as a mode of transportation resulting in less traffic in city areas. Furthermore, the corporates can contribute to this good cause by initiating methods such as "Work from Home" which will enable workers to work in their own home without travelling into the cities. To conclude, it cannot be denied the fact that the whole world is suffering from traffic congestion due to the increase in vehicle ownership caused by the ego and appropriate economic policies. However, improving existing facilities and introducing new modes of transportations will certainly solve this concern in near future.