Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Many websites and online services like banking asking people to use their personal information in the signing up process. I consider this as a negative development because it paves the way for potential damaging personal security breaches; moreover, it is unlikely for anyone to succeed in removing all of his data once they are uploaded online. Namely, putting personal information online exposes the individual to different sort of potential online crimes. For example, identity theft is becoming a nightmare now for banks and individuals, because of the sheer number of incidents happening daily. It begins with a hacker steals someone's private information to access his bank account, and withdraw the money or use it for online shopping. Usually, the victim contacts his bank to stop the transactions but it takes a long time and lots of efforts to prove to the bank the scheme. Hence, sometimes, the victim loses his assets indefinitely. Needless to say that many measures have been taken by banks and online security companies to counter these crimes, but it is an ongoing war with no winner yet. Therefore, it is a huge risk to use personal information in any online activity. A second threat is that once the information is online there is no way to erase it completely. In other words, the digital records of any website are saved on multiple servers and on different search engines too, which makes it impossible to delete all the copies of the data. While the account holder may delete his account and leave the internet for good, all of his data are still online and can be found by an eager criminal. As a result, there is a permanent fear of being hacked despite all the steps taken to clear the web from any personal footprint. To conclude, using personal data online is a negative development because it exposes individuals to online crimes such as identity theft, and since the information will be always online, anyone is in a state of constant threat to safety.