Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of views and give your own opinion.

It has been believed that there should be an exact sentence for every committed crime, however, some people think that motivation and other circumstantial matters should be taken into consideration when giving the punishments. Therefore, in this essay, I would like to examine both perspectives as well as give a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, it is true that the first notion may have an advantage for the public. It gives a transparent standard that can be seen by many people which means the public can not be lied to. If there is something odd, they can just open the constitutional law and search for it. As a result, there will not be any negative prejudice to judges and justice can be reinforced in an effective way. Even though it is good for the public, it actually brings a disadvantage. For example, it is very common in Indonesia, where the law is not as transparent as it should be. Thus, it is very possible for the judges to accept the bribe money in order to put a light penalty on the suspects, especially in corruption cases. Secondly, the other view is also a good choice when there is a special case. For instance, if there is a homicide that is committed by a person with a mental health issue, you can not give him the death penalty. Why did I say that? The reason is that because he does not have a moral value, since his brain is damaged, so that, it is better for him to be sent to the psychiatric hospital. Nevertheless, there is also a drawback regarding this idea. People, who deliberately commit crimes, can pretend to be crazy just to avoid the sentences. Hence, we must be very selective in using this method. In a nutshell, both views have their own positive and negative effects. So, in my personal opinion, it is very wise to use both of them, depending on the situation that happens.