To what extend is the nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

Nowadays, many people are afraid of the usage of nuclear power because of the dangers associated with its use. In my opinion, although it is true that nuclear weapons pose one of the greatest threat to life, the operation of nuclear technology for peaceful purposes also carries with it serious risks. On the one hand, many are the benefits that nuclear technology brings to our life. For example, nuclear power stations provide an important source of cheap and renewable energy for many industrialized nations and some developing countries. Moreover, radiation technology is even adopted to help cure diseases such as cancer. In fact, if it is applied to the body it could burn away cancerous cells and give a better life to the patient. Nuclear technology contributes in many ways to improve human life and the world too. On the other hand, despite the advancements that this technology has had over the last century, many people hold the opinion that risks and misuses are still more than positive aspects. Firstly, the production of energy from radioactive materials produces nuclear waste which is very difficult to get rid of. Secondly, using radiations to cure people of cancer not only is not always successful but is even a painful and dangerous procedure. In addition, military purposes are one of the most worrying arguments. Despite atomic bombs have completely destroyed cities and caused significant consequences to the life of entire nations, such as Japan after the Hiroshima and Nagasaki disaster, some countries like Russia do not stop the construction of such deadly weapons. In conclusion, although there are many peaceful applications of nuclear power that supply improvements, it is difficult not to consider all the still unavoidable risks and abuses.