As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

The modern world has been drastically influenced by global internationalisation, which requires ubiquitous means of communication for nations from different countries and continents. While some people claim that this tendency suffocates local languages, others argue that we should strive to create a united society. In my point of view, a nation that neglects its mother tongue is doomed to fall into oblivion. To begin with, one common area of debates is a language question, especially in multilingual countries. Post-soviet nations could be a great example here. According to the latest data provided by the Ukrainian Bureau of Statistics, one -quarter of citizens speak only Russian, one third - Ukrainian, while the majority relate themselves as bilingual. Moreover, the stunning correlation between the part of Ukraine a person lives in and the language one taught from mother was demonstrated. West was bound with Europe and was autonomous for a long time, thus the Ukrainian language prevails here, while the russophone East had been under the control of Russian Empire before Ukraine became independent. As far as I am concerned, if Ukrainians forget the Ukrainian language, the possibility of losing their independence will rock dramatically. Another factor to consider is the acceptance and acknowledgement of nation language by the world. To show an example, I would like to point out that all solid scientific researches made by Ukrainians will not be rewarded if they are not published in International journals. In other words, scientists without knowledge of one of the international languages can not contribute to the world's progress. All in all, the generally accepted way of communication gives people the opportunity to express their ideas worldwide. However, ignoring the native language makes the future of the country vague.