In Many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some People Believe this discourages the young from taking part in any sport themselves. Discuss This View And Give Your Own Opinion.

Without doubts, sports have been attracting people's attention for centuries in spite of whether a person is interested in this activity or not. A lion's share of studies has provided the data that observing competition may make a person reluctant towards live participation. However, they were criticized by a strong opposition of scientists who claimed that famous sportsmen encourage the young generation to get involved in the sports activities themselves. Frankly, I am prone to support the latter opinion, moreover, all pros and cons of watching sport on television should be considered. To begin with, any art requires two components - the artist and the audience. Obviously, there wouldn't be such masterpieces as Romeo and Juliet if people didn’t attend The Globe Theater or Mona Lisa - if wealthy collectors didn’t buy works of Da Vinci. Similarly, sports records would be (for nothing) in vain if people's breath was not taken during the Olympic Games. On the other hand, when a child or adolescent observes sportsmen's achievements, he or she unintendedly feels despair or even self-oppression. Solid socio-psychological researches led by NHS showed that only the greatest manoeuvres of football players and hooks of boxers are being imprinted in our minds, while failed moments mostly remain behind the main scene. Consequently, a perfect image of a sportsman has a drastically adverse effect on the youngsters' motivation to take part in any sport. That is why it is so important for children to join the sports sections soon before they build an object for admiration in their minds. The US Federation of Sport even encourages parents to send their children to sports camps at the age of 5-6. All in all, naturally people are fond of different kinds of sport and competition. Nevertheless, children have to be taught the difference between professional and amateur sport, that their personal achievements are important and shouldn't be compared with those of famous sportsmen.