People in the community now could buy cheap consumer goods? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common belief that people in the community nowadays could buy consumer items at a low-cost. Although this has several advantages, the drawbacks of it are far more significant. There are some benefits that can be reaped from purchasing inexpensive products. Firstly, there would be an increase in living standards. To be more specific, families of average income now can afford more consumer goods. As a result, they can live with a greater degree of comfort and convenience. Secondly, this trend would encourage positive competition. This means that many commodities of similar functions and appearances are being on the market since manufacturers have to innovate their products to stay competitive. This not only helps the citizens to get more improved and affordable items but also helps generate many revenues for society. However, making a purchase of inexpensive products has some serious downsides which overshadow these positive impacts. One disadvantage could be that there would be a reduction in output quality. Many companies mass produce with lower operating costs to meet the demand of customers, who would opt for an inexpensive product regardless of what name band it is. To illustrate, an iPhone produced in China is affordable for less wealthy individuals but it often breaks down for several days of use. Moreover, there would be no progress in commodity’ development. To be more detailed, people are reluctant to spend their money on buying durable and expensive goods. As a consequence, the manufacturers see no need to lavish their products ’ attributes, which leads to a lag in technological growth. In conclusion, despite the advantages that inexpensive products can bring, it still does more harm than good.