Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment is an old issue that has affected each of us at a certain point in our lives. Although many people claim that the greatest way to get rid of this problem is providing a cell phone and internet to every individual without employment, I think that better alternatives can be enforced. On one hand, supplying a person with a cell phone would inherently keep that individual informed about new job opportunities that are being posted on the web. It is widely known that nowadays there is little prospect of finding a job without having an online curriculum vitae or being constantly checking job websites. For instance, studies show that 90% of the people who are being currently hired by a formal company, the hiring process has been merely conducted through internet. Hence having connected a person without work to the world wide web, would assure the lessen of unemployment rates. On the other hand, the previous solution mentioned may cause adverse effects due to arbitrary behaviours, since not everybody might use the device for the same purpose. For example, some people may while away superfluous hours scrolling their feeds on social media or playing games, which would make very little to tackle their joblessness problem. Moreover, nobody can assure the person receiving the phone is not going to sell it or lose it. Thus, providing an excellent internet connection to public places such as the local library might be a better option. Therefore, giving a cellphone to every jobless person is not the ideal solution. To conclude, though I agree that offering a telephone with access to the web to unemployed people would entirely help to end up their critical situation, I think that this might cause unfavourable results.