In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The constant increase in public healthcare costs is causing many people to think that the population should finance their own medical care. Nevertheless, I strongly disagree with this approach. Reasons to support this will be stated in the next paragraphs. Firstly, access primary-care is a fundamental right and it must be ensured by each government regardless of the individual's age or economic status. Accordingly, the needy may not have sufficient resources to pay for these services neither now or in the future, but no matter the reasons why the person is economically disadvantaged, they should not be left to die. For example, elderly people who have been abandoned may not have the economic power to afford a nursing plan. However, the strict enforcement of healthcare regulations must provide this service. Therefore, every person in the world should be able to be assisted by a professional if needed. Secondly, the lack of government's control over its economical resources is at the core of the problem. For instance, Corruption is a real issue that is affecting the proper distribution of the country's wealth and thousands of millions are being abruptly disappearing which could be used to enhance the medical system. Moreover, the insane accumulation of fundings by a marginal group of people is inherently altering the possibility of financing worldwide public health care systems. Hence, unless governments provide a crystal-clear distribution of public fundings, free medicare will be quite difficult to afford. In a nutshell, Even though there are grounds to believe that in the upcoming days the population of a country should pay for health-care, I take the view that governments have to guarantee this fundamental right to the entire society with an appropriate managing of public money.