Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

A lot of people provide social networks and Banks with their personal information online in order to receive their services. People are concerned whether this develpoment is positive or not. I am going to discuss the pros and the drawbacks considering this phenomenom and the reason why this is mostly a negative development. Firstly, it is really important to underline that the corporations that we share our private details with have the legal duty to protect and keep our data secret, most of the time they succeed on doing so. Secondly through sharing our data with those Social networks, they achieve on making their service more fitting to our own tastes, therefore we enjoy their product more. For instance, in most Social platforms nowadays, if we accept on sharing our private information like our location, our habits and the topics that draw draw from us the most attention and interest, this will result on the platform proposing posts and adverts closer to our taste. On the other side of the spectrum, it is concerning how used we are on sharing such private data with so many Services that require so. Even thought that most companies succeed on securing our information, it is not that unusual for them to leak, sell and sometimes them being actually unsuccessful on protecting them. This stolen data may result on it being used in various ways, from strangers entering our Social network accounts to robbing off our balance in Online Banking services. To sum up, we can indeed be benefited from sharing our personal details with online networks and services, however there is a huge risk on doing so that is often underestimated by most people. This primary drawback is the reason why I believe that this phenomenom is mostly a negative develpment for us and our security.