Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

A lot of people provide social networks and banks with their personal information online in order to receive their services. People are concerned whether this development is positive or not. I will discuss the pros and the drawbacks of this phenomenon and why this is primarily a negative development. Firstly, it is crucial to underline that the corporations we share our private details with have the legal duty to protect and keep our data secret, most of the time, they succeed in doing so. By sharing our data with those social networks, they make their service more fitting to our tastes; therefore, we enjoy their product more. For instance, in most social platforms nowadays, if we accept sharing our private information like our location, habits, and topics that draw from us the most attention and interest, this will result in the platform proposing posts and adverts closer to our taste. On the other side of the spectrum, it is disconcerting how used we are in sharing such private data with so many services that require so. Even though most companies secure our information, it is not that unusual for them to leak, sell, and often be unsuccessful in protecting our private info. Stolen data may result in it being used in various ways, from strangers entering our social network accounts to robbing off our balance in Online banking services. To sum up, we can indeed benefit from sharing our personal details with online networks and services, however, there is a huge risk on doing so, which is often underestimated by most people. This primary drawback is why I believe that this phenomenon is mostly a negative development for us and our security.