It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early stage. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is no doubt that we should bring up infant by providing them with a comprehensive understanding of the principles of good and bad. It is widely believed and recognized that sanction is the main tool for the purpose of giving offspring explanation in this respect. I strongly disagree with this and consider that sort of approach as primitive and excessively direct. First of all, in order to understand what is good and what is,bad it is necessary to look over the moral rationales underlying the concepts of good and evil to focus on teaching good behaviour rather than punishing bad behaviour. Youngsters should be given such an understanding through detailed explanation based on comparisons and examples. For instance, It is important that a child who mistreated someone would feel the pain and suffer from this person. Punishment does not provide such an explanation and just another hurt in the exchange. Furthermore, any punishment inevitably causes psychological trauma to children's minds. A little human who is punished for their wrong behaviour feels humiliation and grief that leave a non - removable trace for the whole life and can negatively impact the future development of children’s self-esteem, self-confidence and even create the feeling of inferiority. All these consequences do not lead to understanding what is wrong and right but rather to fear and stimulate the creative ways to avoid backfire next time by deceiving and pretending. In conclusion, although punishment may be considered as an effective way to teach infants the difference between wrong and right, I am sure that such methods of fostering just cause hurt, form improper impressions about good and bad things and end up distorting reality.