Because of the global economy. Many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last decade, globalisation has increased drastically and with it also the way we transport goods from other country. Despite the fact that people can by products that are cheaper, this method has a negative impact on global pollution. This essay, will discuss why the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Firstly, the main reason why any sort of goods are transported from foreign countries is that the product will cost less for the final consumers. In fact, as the manifacturing processes cost half of the price in some countries, companies are more prone to produce goods in China and then selling them in the U.S.A or in Europe, increasing their revenues esponentially. For example, Alibaba is dominating the market in Asia because of the aforementioned reason, selling billions worth materials and products to companies on the other side of the world and still be able to earn money even paying for the transport. This business models is used by the biggest company in the world such as Apple. In contrast, nowadays we are facing the collateral effects of this methodology as environmental pollution is becoming one of the main concern all around the world. Both airplanes and ships are the two major causes of air and water pollution respectively. Thus, if we want to ameliorate the environment we should go against this model and invest more on companies to produce and sell their products within the same country or continent. Another good example is what happened in the suez canal a week ago where an enormous ship blocked for 6 days the canal and millions of goods could not arrive to the designed destination on time causing problems and billions worth losses. In conclusion, globalisation has completely changed the way we produce and transport products, bringing very little advantages compare to the disadvantages. In the future, more attention should be given to sustainable ways to produce goods internally and limit the environmental damages by the transportation methods.