Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Tobacco consumption around the world has drastically increased over the last decade by consequently accounting for a mortality rate of over six billion cases per Anum due to the components of smoke that are proven harmful for overall well-being. While there are benefits such as the tax revenues that a government can use, I believe that the complete restriction could potentially reduce the cause of smoking-related illnesses. This essay will therefore discuss the pros of having a tobacco-free nation that could result in society’s favour. First and foremost, smoke is constituted with tar, nicotine and other chemicals that are not only addictive but also carcinogenic to the body. Not only that, but smoking has also given rise to cardiovascular and respiratory diseases. A survey in the UK found that 52% of men who had lung cancer were smokers. If government leaders ban smoking, the healthcare expenses in a country would also reduce. Secondly, smoking not only affects the smoker, but also the inhalation of passive smoke has accounted for concerning effects. In addition, improper disposal of cigarette buds has caused environmental pollution which will potentially have long term effects on public well-being. Therefore, banning smoke completely could benefit future generations. For instance, Bhutan is the first country to ban the manufacture, harvesting and distribution of cigarettes which has subsequently reduced pollution. On the other hand, some may argue that this act could diminish a country’s tax revenues which could otherwise be used on expenses such as well-being. While there can be a change in the economy since cigarette is a main form of revenue, I strongly believe that well-being care costs could be reduced if the causation of sicknesses is avoided. In conclusion, due to major well-being issues that have occurred due to cigarettes, leaders could look at ways to support society by doing the right thing. Smoking not only harms adults but also children and if cigarette use is banned, future generation can benefit too.