The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is argued by many that governments should spend more money to support the public services instead of wasting money and resources in arts, music and theatre related aspects. In this essay, I will explain why I cannot completely agree with this statement. To begin with, it is true that there are many more serious problems in the society that the government should address in a higher priority. For instance, health care and unemployment rate is always the major concern in many countries, which many individuals who either cannot afford or have to be waited in a long queue in order to get a proper treatment for their illness. Moreover, there are many families who currently suffering from proverty, cannot even have access to the basic need for their livings. Therefore, it is very crucial for governments to support in this area and helping their citizens to improve their lives. On the other hand, Art, music and theatre also play an important role, it encourage creativity and promotes the harmony in the society as well as educating people about the country's cultural and history. Moreover, entertainment is also necessary for the working force in a country in order to maintain the mental health of individual. As a result, it is benefit to the nation's productivity level and economy. It is obvious that, for a country with no art and entertainment, it will turn into a dull place where people will lose the motivation to keep up their works. In conclusion, it is clear that government should prioritise their funding to address the immediate problems in the society. However, it is also important to make a balance and allocate resources to support the art and entertainment areas.