The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology. To what extent do you agree?

Many individuals think that the aim of education should be preparing children for the modern world. Thus, music and art should be removed from the curriculum in order to focus on more beneficial subjects such as information technology. In my opinion, art and music are equally important as other subjects in the modern world which is why they should be in the curriculum. The aim of this essay is to disagree with the argument and it will explain the debate by using examples. To begin with, it is important to bear in mind that art and music has a unique place throughout history. By learning forms of art, students would have a chance to express their thoughts and feelings better. Furthermore, the ability of lateral thinking can be increased by learning arts and students would have the potential for combining the upward trends such as mobile application and the internet with art. For example, there are many applications that include music and the power of technology together. Consequently, music and arts should not be seen as outmoded and included in the curriculum. Secondly, cutting art and music out of the curriculum can cause a loss of the behemoth potential of students. It is noticeable that every child has unique skills and ability. Therefore especially in fundamental education, many different subjects should be taught to children. In this way, students can discover their personal interests and it gives a more clear vision of the modern world. Instead of teaching a particular subject, comprehensive education in different areas, including art and music, would be more beneficial in order to prepare children for the industrial and technology age. To summarize, although some individuals opinions about art and music should be cut out of the curriculum in the school, this essay demonstrated that the current technological development might be combined with art and as a second argument education should be well-rounded in a different subject for better preparation. For this reason, there is no doubt that art and music should be included in the curriculum.