Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is said that a person is known by the company they keep. Some have a view that one should befriend people who think alike whereas others feel that sometimes friends should have a different outlook. This essay discusses why it is beneficial to have a like-minded social circle but also why is it very important to have some people who show you a different point of view. It is certainly in one’s own interest to have companions who do not always nod-a-head with you but sometimes strive to reason on another viewpoint. For example, if a person is having a hard time at the office and decides to leave one of the best companies. They can have a friend who can explain why the company is putting pressure on them. Maybe the person is due for an appraisal and the management wants to see how much workload they can handle. Such people help other see situations from a different angle. They help you reason much better. We all need some friends who can agree to what we say and give us confidence about the judgements we make. We all are emotional beings and we want someone to respect our emotions and actions. For instance, if we do not have a social circle that makes us believe in our decisions we will never be able to become self-confident. In conclusion, I would like to say that one must choose their friends wisely. This essay discussed why it is important to have people help you see circumstances from various angles before arriving at a judgement whereas it is also helpful to have some people who share the same line of thought. However, in my opinion, it is absolutely necessary to have companions who do not always agree with your opinion.