In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your won opinion.

The issue of whether children should engage in paid work during studies is a matter of concern for many guardians. Critics argue that children earning money at a young age can have a negative impact on education, however others and I believe the opposite. This essay will discuss both views by using examples from Oxford University study 2020 and Bupa Employement survey 2019. On one hand, many believe when children start getting involved in other activities such as a job, this has a negative effect on their school- work. For example, a study done in 2020 by Oxford University found that 76% of young people in position of employment had 15. 5% lower grades than children who are not involved in any work. Based on these results, it can be said that children who are only fixated on studying tend to get higher marks in contrast to youngsters who have jobs. So if children just focused on school-learning and not on paid- work they will increase their grade percentile in school. On the other hand, youngsters are encouraged to work, to gain experience and learn new-set of skills. As many job employment agencies hire somone with an experience and not just academics. For example, a Bupa Employement survey done in 2019, found that children who started working early were more likely to be hired and additionally, 45% were in high rank position at work in the future compared to children who had no work-experience. Based on this report, it can be said that working alonside studying is an vital component of development and guardians should get kids in some kind of paid- work weekly. In my opinion, working alongside studying can help youngsters gain many skills such as team- work, responsibility of a completing a task, experience, and it can also prep you in what field you would like to work in. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, though working at a young age has benefits such as work-experience, it also has drawbacks, like lower class grades. Hence, youngsters and parents should be cautious how many hours of paid- work should be done in order to keep the balance between educcation and other activites.