Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People who are environment activist has a serious concern over water being polluted such as rivers, seas, and lakes. Some people tend to ignore these issues, which may impact our future life as it is believed, that world has only 0.5% of water which can be consumed by humans and animals. In this essay we will discuss the main reasons for water contamination and how will it affect both human and animal’s life. Firstly, water is very essential for a living being and it is found that nearly 80% of the human body consists of water. Due to the recent development of factories and other industrial areas all the accumulated waste is being dumped in nearby water areas. This cause the water to be impure and not suitable for drinking due to the presence of harmful chemicals in them. For instance, the nuclear power plant in Vishakhapatnam tends to discharge harmful water into the sea. This way, animals living in the sea, their lives are being endangered unable to survive for a longer period. Secondly, in the human,culture we use water for various purposes. From irrigation in the field’s to washing, cooking and mostly for drinking to survive. When these freshwaters are being polluted it is impossible for the human race to survive much longer. For example, when growing crops, we need water for planting seeds which will be useful for food consumption. Polluted water will destroy crops and hence no food will be left for the beings to live on to. To conclude, the government should educate the people on saving water and should fine the industries that are polluting these water resources. Because our survival is totally dependent on freshwater, it should be preserved well for the future generation.