Most high level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

There has been an ongoing debate regarding the lack of female representatives in the structure of companies, especially in higher-level positions. Many have adopted the view that it should be mandatory for firms to assign a significant share of women to those jobs and I am a strong proponent of that idea. First and foremost, it should be well understood that men dominated the workforce due to the old stereotype that women have to put more emphasis on family while men are destined to put bread on the table. For example, in a developing country, girls often are not allowed to go to school to sharpen their skills and intelligence and therefore disallow girls the possibility of landing higher-income jobs. Furthermore, men often underestimate the capability of women in terms of working as a result of the lingering stereotype that has no profound evidence. In order to break through the stereotype, it should be mandatory for female workers to be assigned to executive jobs more often to promote inclusiveness and improve the workplace altogether. For example, empirical evidence shows that companies with a higher share of women tend to be more open to new ideas, resulting in an overall betterment of the quality of the output. Furthermore, the compulsory policy can break through the stigma and help girls around the world achieve better educational qualities and opportunities. To conclude, I firmly believe that women need to be better represented in the industrial world to break through the ongoing stigma and to produce better outcomes for our society as a whole.