There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Computer technology has made both distance learning and working convenient. Although some might consider it negative; however I believe it to be extremely beneficial. Not only because virtual learning and working have made it accessible globally but also because it is equally beneficial for physically challenged people. This essay will explore how these mega advantages make this a positive development. The first demerit related to work from home is the dependency on networks and connections. As power breakdown could result in a shutdown of computer along with all the associated gadgets. For example, during an important meeting, Wi-Fi troubleshooting could result in disconnection. Hence the dependency of computer technology on power is a noteworthy demerit. Furthermore, in-person availability in front of the screen could have detrimental impacts on health. For instance, excess screen time affects eyesight, and sitting continuously in an upright position could be tiring. Therefore, these reasons make work from home disadvantageous. There are multiple advantages associated with working and learning from home. To begin with, it creates accessibility across the globe. As computer technology does not require physical presence. For instance, an international meeting or a conference can be conducted from a single computer across the borders. Thus, it mitigates the hassle of being physically present while attending the meeting. Moreover, virtual learning has significant benefits for disabled persons. For example, students can watch recorded lectures repeatedly. Hence, e-learning has been a blessing for disabled persons. In conclusion, working and learning from home has its downside too, but I believe the benefit it brings in terms of global reach and easiness towards disabled people can make this development overall positive.