Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages?

Automobiles are becoming more and more popular these days to the point that it is becoming a necessity for some families to own at least one car if not more. I do believe its benefits overcome its drawbacks. This essay will examine my view in more details. It is undeniable that having millions of vehicles on the road every day can impact the quality of the air we breath and the environment we live in a negative way. Air pollution in some area of the world for instance has caused so many health conditions including lung cancer. However, in some area of the world, it is very difficult to commute without a vehicle due to the fact that people live far away from where they work. For instance, in the united states some people live a hundred miles away from their workplace, if they want to use public transport, it will take hours for them to commute, which is not practical. Thus, it makes it impossible to make a trip without a car. Also, kids go to school and parents have to also go to so many different destinations per day that makes it even more difficult. Another advantage of having a car is to be able to travel long distance with family. Whereas, without, car it is very expensive and time consuming to travel around. For instance, a simple road trip to Whistler from downtown Vancouver for a family of four by the bus is about $280, while with your own automobile it cost less than $30. Besides, you have the flexibility of having numerous stops along the way which is not an option when you don't drive your car. To sum up, even though, some might argue with me saying that cars can pollute the air and cause lots of human illnesses, it seems to me that car is a necessity for many families who travel a lot and for those who need it in order to be able to go from and to work. In order to reduce its negative impact on the environment, one should only use his car for essential travels.