Fewer and fewer people walk on daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend time walking?

Walking has always been considered as one of the best ways to keep fit, yet the trend of walking is declining among individuals. Fast-paced lifestyle, improved and convenient modes of transportation and technological developments are a few of the reasons behind this development, and the trend can be reversed just by making people more aware of their health and with a slight change in lifestyle. Earlier, walking was used to be the most used mode to travel from one place to another. With the development of other faster modes of transportation, people started to shift from being pedestrians to another alternative of transport, either it is the bicycles of the earlier 20th century to modern era’s cars and aeroplanes. In addition to this, globalization has lead to a fast-paced lifestyle, where everyone tries to utilize the maximum of their time, and walking is somewhat considered a time-consuming practice. For example, people are working in multiple shifts and performing different jobs at different places in a day, and they prefer to drive or ride to commute as the hours are saved, which otherwise would have been utilized in covering the same distance on foot. Thus, to save and utilize the valuable time in a more productive way people are not preferring to stroll anymore., Furthermore technological up-gradation has also proved to be the contributor to this trend. The tasks which in past required more physical involvement, are being done by machines these days. For example, in the agriculture,sector there was a lot of walking involved, but now most of the tasks are performed by using tractors and other mechanical equipment, and thus resulting in a reduced number of pedestrians. On the contrary to all the benefits, the ill effects of this increasing trend of not walking much on the health of individuals cannot be ignored. More and more people are getting obese and having other health issues. To reverse this practice of not being a pedestrian, people are needed to be made more aware of the health benefits of walking. No vehicle zones can be made to promote walking. In conclusion, the lack of time caused by a fast-paced lifestyle and the availability of faster transportation means has caused people to walk less, and this practice can be discouraged by making people aware of the health benefits of strolling and by setting up some specific walkways and vehicle-free zones.