Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

From the 21st century, it is common for an increasing number of people to have children later in their life. This essay will discuss its roots and some effects associated with it. The fact that newly-married couples delay their sexual life on the bed can be attributed to such a trend. It is due to the more competitive job market. To be more specific, it is undeniable that finding a secure job with a decent salary seems to be more challenging these days. Consequently, many modern people decide to put their career in priority so that they not only guarantee high-standard well-being but also build a strong financial platform to prepare for their offspring’s future. Besides, it is believed that the young people nowadays are more open-minded like live-in relation without getting married, so they may lead their sensual intimacies with more freedom. Compared with the past when married people were restricted to the responsibilities of nurturing their family legacy, modern ones have a tendency to enjoy the life of newly couples with fulfilling their job ambitions or their own dreams such as exploring around the world. However, this trend can impart many detrimental implications for society in general and families in particular. In terms of society, a decline in the birth rate can be one of the main reasons leading to an ageing population as well as the shortage in the labour force. This would negatively affect the development of a nation in the long term. A survey on 2000 modern women revealed that, women at the age of over 35 may have higher risks of sagging breasts, premature birth or miscarriage when experiencing the pregnancy. In conclusion, the popularity of conceiving later in life can be caused by numerous reasons, yet the serious impacts of it should not be overlooked.