Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend ?

It has been greatly argued that old people are put in retirement homes, however, some people think that they should be taken care by their families. This essay would examine the advantages and the disadvantages of being left in suck kind of institutions. There are many merits on leaving elderly people in nursing homes because it would help them to interact with other people of same age which would in turn help them to be energetic, pleasant and resistive to many diseases. For example, according to the research done in 2006, number of people dying at the age of 70 and above have decreased drastically due to the introduction of such homes in the society. Furthermore, people who have no one in their life or have their children abroad, could live securely in these kinds of platforms which have enough aid and assistance to manage even in case of an emergency. On the other hand, there are some demerits as well while admitting retired people in nursing houses. Firstly, there are many homes where the management takes advantage of these weak people by making them work without paying them. For instance, during the year of 2010, around 100 old age homes in India were shut as a result of their exploitation. Secondly, the love and the affection that they receive from the family members cannot be compared with the services that are provided by the staffs. As a result, everything seems to be artificial where some people would not be able to adjust with. In conclusion, there are both advantages as well as disadvantages in admitting individuals according to such kinds of trends. Even though some old age homes could responsibly take care, there are some homes which could exploit their weaknesses.