With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Because social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram have become more and more common, an increasing number of young people are using the internet without supervision to interact with friends both on and offline. This puts them at risk of crimes such as cyberbullying and online theft. There are several solutions to this problem, which I will suggest in this essay. One way to tackle this issue is to incorporate online education into the school curriculum. What puts youngsters in danger is the lack of knowledge about how to use the internet safely, and a school is a great place for learning about online safety, as children can share information and discuss their opinions on ways to avoid dangerous situations. By making courses on online safety mandatory, they can gain skills to use social media safely. Another solution would be for families to set rules about the use of communication apps. While there are certain things that everyone has to follow in terms of using social media, people have different views on how much adults should control their children’s online activities. Therefore, I believe that it is a good idea for parents to talk with their children and set boundaries about their use of social media. For example, some parents can allow their children to text only with people they have met in person. In conclusion, we can mitigate the risks that come with online communication by online safety education in school and establishing family rules. I think it is crucial for adults to take responsibility to protect young people.