Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while other would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the prime object of prison is punishment while others say the main motive is rehabilitation. This essay agrees that the reason for prison is punishment. This essay will discuss both points of view On one hand, rehabilitation is a action of restoring someone from former privileges. Some people are sentenced to jail for their whole life while others, serving the time of their punishment for minor crimes. For instance, a twenty - three-year-old woman who was previously jailed for shoplifting, was caught by security at the showroom trying to shoplift a Rolex watch. This proves that prison is not the best option to rehabilitate themself On the other hand, there are people present in the society who has committed hideous crime such as rape, murder, child abuse, asulting etc. These criminals should not be released from jail because they will try to commit such crimes again and prison will just be a vacation for them. To illustrate, a twenty-year-old local gangster who has committed various dangaoures crime has been to jail several times but still it does not stop him from going on the wrong path or repeating the same felony. However, the goverment should punish this criminal it will not make society safe but also create an example for the youngsters about the consequences of going on a wrong path In conclusion, Some people deserve a second chance and prison can be rehabilitation for them., However I believe that the key agenda of prison should be punishing people for the dangerous crime they have committed