Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

The issue of the application of fixed punishment for similar kind of crimes has been raising a lot of debates. Some might say that this case can not be accepted because each form of committing offences has different levels and it also makes the sentence less objective and fair. On the contrary, others insist on the opinion that the same punishments which are used for all crimes will probably save a lot of time and money for the government. Viewing from general perspectives, this essay will discuss viewpoints and I personally follow the former opinion by following reasons. To begin with, using the fixed discipline for criminals will influence the right of individual and lacking equality legislation. Firstly, the age of the offender is very diverse so that the level of punishments are also different. For example, having the similar case such as stealing valuable assets from another, fines are used as abuse for thief under 16 years old, in contrast, the theft is a responsible crime for the bad behaviour since full 16 years old and they are put in prison to ensure the safety of other people. Secondly, the circumstances and the criminal’s motivation of an offender have important roles to decide the trial. For instance, a person who robs the money from the bank for the purpose to feed their family will be punished slightly compared to someone stealing it for their own benefits. Finally, the complicated criminal case has a lot of evidence and witnesses, therefore judges play a significant role in each specific case and decide the most suitable punishment in accordance with the situation case. On the other hand, having a set of punishment for each crime is advocated because it can reduce the expense of prisons. It is also easier for the judges and the jury to find out the penalty for each case such as fines are used as punishment for all crime of theft. However, if we apply this kind of punishment for each crime, it will be not fair to the suspected who can not defend their behaviour even be sentenced to capital punishment. In conclusion, every people always have the right of individuals so that each committing offences need to be punished with the objective and fair basing on their motivations and circumstances.