In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? and is it positive or negative development?

The issues of whether spending long hours at work has a negative impact on human in any aspect have been raising debates. Some might say that this trend can lead to many detrimental effects such as physical health deterioration and suicide commitment. On the contrary, others insist on the view that earning more is what they receive from spending more time at work. Standing from general viewpoints, I agree with the former opinion for the following reasons. To begin with, working overtime at a high frequency for a long time can be seen as the main reason for many adults to have physical disease and commit suicide. First of all, working adults nowadays tend to spend all of their time sitting and staring at the computer screen, as a result, they are susceptible to illnesses relating to eyes and posture. Secondly, working without having sufficient leisure time can cause people to suffer from mental illnesses like anti-social or stress. As a consequence, they are prone to kill themselves due to their emotional instability. Finally, working without having sufficient time to interact with reality can make individuals degrade their communication skill since they do not often engage in verbal communication. On the other hand, others claim that money is the main motivation that compelled them to work more due to the fact that they need to pay for their living. However, money can not afford individuals happiness and healthiness. Once you have sacrificed your time and money to earn more, you can not pay the doctors or psychologists to bring you back in time when you were healthy and happy. In conclusion, it is indisputable to say that sacrificing more time for work can exert adverse effects on humanity.