Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenagers and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Young individuals working on a volunteer basis is thought to benefit both themselves and the community as a whole. Although I strongly approve of the former statement, I disagree that every teenager should be forced to do unpaid work. Most young volunteers can benefit from doing community work without pay in their spare time, as this work can help them take control of their free time and do exercise after strenuous hours of studying. Teenagers can utilize the time to make improvement to their society as well as relax by doing physical work, instead of just staying at home watching TV or playing video games. Moreover, the local community can take advantage of the free labour force and use the wage budget for better purposes, for example, equipping new facilities for the area. However, I believe it is up to the teenagers themselves to decide what to do in their leisure time, without any enforcement from adults. Despite the clear benefit of this arrangement, doing this would likely cause resentment among teenagers as they would feel they are being used. From a moral perspective, other people have no rights to obligate and use teenager’s time and effort against their will and consent, and no one should be compelled to do volunteer work. It would be more meaningful if teenagers are willing to take up the work, not by anyone’s telling them to do. In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others in their community, but in my opinion, we should not make this compulsory.