Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extend you agree or disagree?

Expansion and development of new supermarkets in various countries have large competition which will directly impact the business of local merchants. While some people feel that this will be difficult for either local or small shopkeepers to run their business smoothly. I will explain why I feel that this will surely impact the business of street market businessman, as well as reduce the value of the local market owing to price competition and quality aspects which will deliver the worst result for the local businessman. On the one hand, supermarkets are a place where everyone can get all their rudimentary household items. In other words, everything we can buy under the same roof is more convenient for every individual. Currently, the exponential development of malls is showing the result that customers are more inclined towards supermarket shopping. For example, a survey has been conducted by the development department of India, in which 60% of people accepted that supermarkets are much better option for shopping than local shops. Furthermore, they have provided a plethora of discount schemes that should also be attract more new customers. Moving ahead, the supermarket also deliver the product to the customer’s doorstep that is also the best way to make their customer happy without any extra charges whereas this can be declined the market value of local shops. For instance, In India, DMART a new rising star firm in the field of grocery, has used a concept where they will bring the product from their stores and deliver it to customer’s door step with no cost charge. Last but not the least, this company has been more focused on the quality of items, because of that company had raised a tenth profit within 5 years of establishment. In conclusion, it is absolutely correct that expansion of supermarket and its development will reduce the market value of local merchants. In my opinion, supermarkets will be the best place for shopping in the future due to discount offers and the better quality, compared to the local market.