Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Competitiveness is an inevitable essence in our daily lives, whether when we are fully-grown adult or a child. With such ubiquitous existence, it undoubtedly has great impacts on our physical development, sanity and mental state. Therefore, the debate about competitions in human societies has been on-going for decades as to state if it would be a negative or positive developments. Personally, I suggest that although competitive atmosphere can raise life quality, too much of it can be a disadvantage. Since one has to compete with others in order to not be defeated or left behind, competitiveness has become one of the largest stress source to ever be known. As one ’s mind has to stay focus and concentrate on not only his goal but also observe others’ progresses to deduce the best strategy. However, such tendency will cost a bulk amount of energy and likely lead to exhaustion. In some cases, health problems may even arise. Therefore, it can be concluded that comepetitiveness affects us on a whole-body scale. Take marathon for example, in a race where there likely will be more than a hundred participants, one will need to have a clearly-elaborated plan on how long a sprinting interval should last before finishing the race that can be at least five kilometer long and become the champion. As far as it is concern, competitiveness can be negative in virtually no field except for health. With it being relevant, one will have a much clearer opponent to defeat and improve himself. In other word, motivation will play alongside with competitiveness. Not even we can be rennovated and encouraged to work harder, much experience can be gained through the weaknesses in our strategy comparing to others. In general, competitivess competitive is mostly a healthy tendency. It is not competitiveness itself that may cause the deletarious effects but the reasons are entirely attached to us. If one pushes himself too much, there will be damage involving his quality of life.