Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is argued that sharing scientific research and business information as much as possible is good, while others think some information could not be shared easily because it is too important or valuable. While the latter concerned potential plagiarism and unrighful claims of ownership, I believe it is good to share information freely, as this allows academia and businesses to improve drastically which creates more competitive markets. On the one hand, some people believe that some business and scientific research information should be gatekeep in order to prevent plagiarism and unlawful claims. With the information shared freely, it is easier for people and businesses to copy the works of others into their own works, making them guilty of plagiarism. This can result in many unrightful claims of scientific discovery and product engineering. For example, the establishment of intellectual property rights and courts in law is seen as the ultimate effort to prevent plagiarism and to settle contesting claims over intellectual property. However, with the establishment of the mechanism, I believe people do not have to worry about the plagiarism and unlawful claims. On the other hand, many think that information should be shared freely because this allows better businesses and scientific research outputs and creates more healthy markets. As the information becomes easily accessed, many companies could implement valuable, relevant strategies to enhance their products, same with academics with their scientific research. As a result, there will be better competition, both in business sector and in academia that could benefit many people to access better products and research more easily. For example, many scientists, such as Oppenheimer, could not have discovered his scientific breakthrough without the prior works of his predecessors, such as Einstein and Bohr. To conclude, while many believe that business and academic information could not be shared freely due to potential threats of plagiarism and unrightul claims, I believe the information should be easily accessed as this results in better improvement of many products and scientific knowledge that could benefit many people.