In many countries the widespread use of the internet has given people freedom to work or study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweighs the disadvantages?

Advancement in technology has affected different areas of our lives. In various nations today, increasing use of the internet has allowed individuals to work and attend school from their houses, rather than moving from one place to another. However there are concerns that this may have some negative effect, in my opinion,the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. One major beneficial effect of using Cyberspace is that it is less expensive. This is because the money that would have been spent on transportation to and fro organisations and institutions of learning is being saved for other purposes., Also lecture materials and textbooks are not purchased thereby cutting down expenses. For instance, research carried out in a Canadian company during the lockdown reveals that workers reported having a lot of savings ever since they started operating from their homes. Due to this, they are able to cater for more family needs than before.,, Furthermore students now have access to different materials and information online with just a click of the Finger, using their computers and Laptops which would not have been possible in school. For,example a majority of the tertiary institutions in Nigeria do not have current textbooks in their libraries, therefore exposing scholars to outdated materials and knowledge, making learning ineffective. However, the world wide web also has its own disadvantages. Firstly, it cuts face-to-face contacts, individuals can no more meet their colleagues at work and as, such there is no human interaction resulting in boredom and subsequently depression. in addition, undergraduates have no avenue of interacting with their lecturers as the case may be in a classroom situation. Although in some cases provisions are made for questions in the comment section after the online lecture, they are rarely attended to, thus, leaving them in a confused state. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some disadvantages associated with the use of the World Wide Web, I believe that it has a more positive impact on humans.