Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is considered by some that big businesses and industry should relocate to areas outside the city centre. In my opinion, although there are several advantages for the companies, I believe that moving to rural or suburban areas would have more drawbacks in the long run. On the one hand, having a business in regional areas offers them some benefits. One of them is that it can cut down costs for a great deal. Maintaining a property and the labour cost is more expensive in a city compared to other regions. Therefore, moving out of the city enables companies to increase their overall profit, as their expenditure would be reduced. Another plus point is that there is less competition in rural areas, which can also be beneficial because they can attract more customers there. On the other hand, companies face a few disadvantages by building their base in the countryside. One is that the population in a regional area is much smaller, which means that they cannot produce as much profit as their competitor in the city does. Another downside of large businesses in local areas is that it may push the small companies in the area to bankruptcy. Generally, large businesses can provide consumers with cheaper items as they have a low-cost manufacturing process. For this reason, many local shops have struggled financially, and this has caused people to develop negative feelings toward large chains. To conclude, I think that the negatives of moving businesses to suburbs outweigh the positives, because the number of customers they have is the strongest factor in success, and the urban area has a clear advantage.